HOSA  is a national student organization endorsed by the U.S. Department
of Education and the Health Science Education Division of ACTE. HOSA's
two-fold mission is to promote career opportunities in the health care industry
and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people. HOSA's goal
is to encourage all health occupations instructors and students to join and be
actively involved in the HSE-HOSA Partnership.

HOSA provides a unique program of leadership development, motivation, and
recognition exclusively for secondary, postsecondary, adult, and collegiate
students enrolled in HSE programs. HOSA is 100% health care!

2014 HOSA Officer Training

Hosa Officer Training took place on June 12 and 13 at Griff's RV Park in
Altoona, Iowa.  Five of our officers attended.

National Scholarship Winner

Samantha Gochenour, a student at Missouri Valley High School was selected to receive a $1,000 
HOSA scholarship. The scholarship was sponsored by NCHSE (National Consortium for Health Science 

Sami will be attending the University of Nebraska, Omaha to major in 
dentistry.  Sami has been very active in the Missouri Valley HOSA 
chapter over the last two years.  She takes pride in volunteering 
and serving others. 

National Policy Seminar:

Despite a cold winter storm that cancelled many flights and shut the 
National Government down for more than a day, Nicole Mutchler, 
Western Region HOSA Vice President and high school junior at 
Sioux City West, travelled to Washington, DC to attend the 2014 
National Policy Seminar.  Nicole was joined by members of the Iowa 
Department of Education and a fellow student from Waterloo High School 
Arijan Alagic.  While advocating for career and technical education and 
Perkin’s funding, Nicole had the opportunity to meet face-to-face with 
Senator Tom Harkin (D), Senator Charles Grassley (R), and Congressman 
Tom Lathum (R – 3rd District).  Nicole also met with congressional aides for 
Bruce Braley (D – 1st District), David Loebsack (D – 2nd District), and 
Steve King (R – 4th District).